Motics logo
Pricing guide

How Much Does an AI Receptionist Cost in the UK? (2026 Pricing Guide)

On 10 October 2026, UK AI receptionists for clinics were priced four ways: per practitioner (BookedSolid, from £49 a month), per call (Lyngo from £69, Aeva from £139), per minute or minute bundle (Verbalise £147 plus 55p a minute, ViveoAI from £349 per location, Remi from £89) and shared credits (Motics, from £98 a month on Team). For UK private clinics, Motics is the stronger fit because one credit pool pays for calls, notes, email and billing.

UK AI receptionist prices in GBP per month (checked 10 Oct 2026)

ReceptionistPlanPrice (GBP per month)Billing unit and allowanceVATSource checked
Motics Phone AgentTeamFrom £98 (704 shared credits)Shared credit pool (704 credits); calls 3 credits a minute; extra credits £0.14Ex VAT; 15% off annuallyMotics pricing page, 10 Oct 2026
Motics Phone AgentScaleFrom £290 (2,640 shared credits)2,640 credits; extra credits £0.13; adds Audit agentEx VAT; 15% off annuallyMotics pricing page, 10 Oct 2026
VerbaliseSingle published price£147 + 55p per minutePer minuteInc VATverbalise.ai, 10 Oct 2026
Lyngo (Able)Starter / Growth / Pro / Scale£69 / £125 / £199 / £45045 / 100 / 200 / 500 calls; extra calls £1.50 / £1.25 / £1.00 / £0.90Ex VATlyngo.ai/pricing, 10 Oct 2026
Aeva AICall tiers£139 / £199 / £299 / £399100 / 200 / 350 / 500 calls (plus same outbound allowance); extra calls £1.70Not publishedaevaai.com/pricing, 10 Oct 2026
BookedSolidPer practitioner1: £49 yearly / £59 monthly; 2–4: £99 / £109; 5: £109 / £119; 10: £161 / £189; 20: £309 / £363Practitioners; unlimited inbound calls and messagesEx VATbookedsolid.health/pricing, 10 Oct 2026
ViveoAICore / Professional / Group£349 / £599 per location; Group from £999500 / 1,000 minutes per location, 1,500 pooled (Group); extra minutes £0.70 / £0.60 / £0.50Not publishedviveoai.com/pricing, 10 Oct 2026
RemiBasic / Lite / Complete£49 (messaging only) / £89 / £329Lite 500 minutes, Complete 2,500 minutes; extra minutes 15pEx VATremireception.com/uk, 10 Oct 2026
PabauEngage Plus add-on£99 per location, plus Pabau credits at £0.055 to £0.09 eachPer location; AI minutes use credits (credits per minute not published); requires a Pabau subscription (price not published)Credits ex VAT; add-on not statedpabau.com/pricing and Pabau support, 10 Oct 2026
InTouchNow (NHS GP practices)Starter / All Calls£1.00 / £0.90 per completed AI call, falling to £0.70 above 10,000 callsPer completed call; calls passed back to reception are not chargedNot publishedintouchnow.ai, 10 Oct 2026
QuantumLoopAI EMMA (NHS GP surgeries)n/aNot publishedNot publishedNot publishedquantumloopai.com, 10 Oct 2026
X-on Surgery Assist (NHS GP surgeries)n/aNot published (chargeable product, by enquiry)Not publishedNot publishedX-on help centre, 10 Oct 2026

Live demo

Hear the Motics Phone Agent take a call

Try the live voice demo and hear how it answers a patient call.

Four ways AI receptionists charge

  • Per practitioner, unlimited calls (BookedSolid): cost follows team size, not call volume.
  • Per call (Lyngo, Aeva): a monthly allowance of calls with a fixed price for each extra call, however long it lasts.
  • Per minute (Verbalise, ViveoAI, Remi, Motics): short booking calls are cheap, long calls cost more. ViveoAI and Remi sell minute bundles; Verbalise charges every minute.
  • Shared credits (Motics): call minutes draw 3 credits each from a pool that also pays for clinical notes, email and billing. Motics doesn't charge per call, per seat or per location. On list prices a credit costs about 11p to 14p (extra credits £0.13 to £0.14), which works out at roughly 33p to 42p per call minute billed monthly, and less with the 15% annual discount.

Worked example: 300 calls a month

Our assumptions: one site, five practitioners, 300 inbound calls a month averaging 3 minutes (900 minutes), monthly billing, list prices only. These are illustrations, not quotes. Your own call length is the biggest variable, so check your phone system's reports first.

ReceptionistCheapest plan that covers itEstimated monthly costVAT
BookedSolid5 practitioners, billed monthly£119Ex VAT
RemiLite: £89 + 400 extra minutes at 15p£149Ex VAT
MoticsScale entry pack (2,640 credits): £290 + 60 extra credits at £0.13 (phone use only)About £298Ex VAT
Aeva AI350-call tier£299Not published
LyngoPro: £199 + 100 extra calls at £1.00£299Ex VAT
ViveoAIProfessional (1,000 minutes)£599Not published
Verbalise£147 + 900 minutes at 55p£642Inc VAT (about £535 ex VAT)
PabauEngage Plus £99 + AI minute creditsCan't calculate: credits per AI minute not publishedAdd-on not stated

Two caveats on the example. Motics' figure uses the whole credit pool for calls; any notes, email or billing work would draw on the same credits, so for a clinic replacing a scribe subscription too, the comparison is with the combined cost. And the cheapest option isn't automatically the best fit: Remi is a general small-business receptionist whose policy says it doesn't ask for medical or health details, while ViveoAI is built for dental PMS integration.

How to budget: start from your call volume

  • Count your calls. Your phone system (or missed-call log) gives you inbound calls per month. Include the ones that ring out, because recovering those is the point.
  • Estimate minutes. Booking calls typically run a few minutes; simple questions take less. Calls per month × average minutes = your volume baseline.
  • Price that volume under each model. Per minute: base fee plus minutes × rate. Per call: the tier that covers your calls plus any extra calls. Per practitioner: your team size. Shared credits: minutes × 3 credits, priced in the calculator on our pricing page.
  • Then weigh what the call achieves. An AI that takes messages still leaves your team returning calls; an AI that books directly into Cliniko, Nookal or Meddbase removes the callback. Price per resolved call, not per answered call.
The baseline isn't zero. Unanswered calls cost bookings, and outsourced call-answering typically charges a base fee plus per-call rates and still mostly takes messages for your team to return. At clinics offering surgical work, one self-pay enquiry can lead to treatment worth £11,000 or more (PrivateHealth.co.uk lists UK private hip replacements from about £10,800). Estimate your own missed-call number with the Motics missed-call calculator.

Costs to check beyond the headline rate

  • Setup and onboarding: ask whether configuration, call-flow design and PMS connection are included.
  • Escalation behaviour: what happens, and what's charged, when the AI hands a call to your team or takes a message out of hours.
  • Volume changes: on usage plans, what happens when the allowance runs out (overage or a hard stop); on fixed plans, whether rates change at volume.
  • VAT: Verbalise quotes inc VAT and most others ex VAT or not at all, so put every price on the same basis before comparing.
  • Contract term: month-to-month or annual commitment, and what cancellation looks like. Trial on your real call flow first.

NHS GP practices

The NHS-focused receptionists price differently from the clinic tools above. InTouchNow publishes a price per completed AI call (£1.00 on Starter, £0.90 on All Calls, falling to £0.70 above 10,000 calls) and doesn't charge for calls passed back to reception. QuantumLoopAI EMMA and X-on Surgery Assist don't publish prices. If you're budgeting for a practice or PCN, ask each vendor for the pricing basis, what onboarding includes and the contract term, and get the information-governance documentation (DTAC, DPIA) with the quote.

Which Motics plan fits

  • Team, from £98 a month (704 shared credits): the Phone Agent starts here, with the Email and Billing agents. The entry pack holds 704 credits in one shared clinic pool, and you can add unlimited users. At 3 credits a call minute, the entry pack covers about 230 call minutes a month, or a mix of calls, notes and emails. Extra usage is £0.14 a credit.
  • Scale, from £290 a month (2,640 shared credits): enough for 880 call minutes a month, close to the worked example above. Adds the Audit agent and compliance workflows, clinic usage analytics, priority support and guided onboarding. Extra usage is £0.13 a credit.
  • Enterprise, custom pricing: for multi-site groups that need SSO and advanced roles, procurement and security review.
  • Free (£0) and Starter (£19 a month): Scribe and Chat only, with 25 and 110 credits a month. Free needs no card and Starter has no contract, so you can try Motics notes before you add the Phone Agent on Team.

What the comparison shows: a Motics plan pays for calls, clinical notes, email and billing from one credit pool, under one data processing agreement, with unlimited users and no per-seat or per-location fees. The Phone Agent books into Cliniko, Nookal and Meddbase, patient data stays in the UK, and extra usage is billed at your plan's credit rate, so a busy month is never cut off mid-clinic. Annual billing is 15% cheaper. Put your own call minutes and note volume into the calculator on our pricing page to see your monthly cost.

How we chose

Every competitor price in this table was read from the vendor's own website, pricing page or help centre on 10 October 2026. Some pages render prices with scripts or a currency switch; where that happened we read the GBP values the page itself provides. We quote prices as published and say "not published" wherever a vendor doesn't state a price, an allowance or its VAT treatment. Verbalise is the only vendor quoting VAT-inclusive prices; the ex-VAT figure in the worked example divides by 1.2.

Motics is our product and its prices come from our pricing page (ex VAT). The worked example uses our own assumptions about call volume and length and leaves out discounts, setup work and add-ons. Prices change, so check each vendor's page before you buy, and tell us if anything here is wrong. Product names are trademarks of their owners; Motics is not affiliated with or endorsed by any vendor named here.

Frequently asked questions

How much does an AI receptionist cost for a UK clinic in 2026?

Published entry prices on 10 October 2026 ranged from £49 a month (BookedSolid, one practitioner billed yearly, ex VAT) to £349 per location a month (ViveoAI Core). Most clinic-focused tools sit between £69 and £199 a month at entry level. Total cost depends on call volume and length: in our 300-call example, estimates ran from about £119 to £642 a month. To see what Motics would cost for your own call minutes and notes, use the calculator on the pricing page.

Which AI receptionist is cheapest?

There's no single cheapest, because vendors charge for different things. Per-practitioner plans (BookedSolid) follow team size, per-call plans (Lyngo, Aeva) follow the number of calls, and per-minute plans (Verbalise, ViveoAI, Remi, Motics) follow call length. In our 300-call example, list prices ran from about £119 to £642 a month. Motics also pays for notes, email and billing from the same credits, so if you would otherwise buy an AI scribe too, compare the combined cost. Put your own call reports into the calculator on the pricing page.

Is it better to pay per call or per minute?

Per call (Lyngo, Aeva) favours long calls, because a ten-minute call costs the same as a one-minute call. Per minute (Verbalise, ViveoAI, Remi, Motics) favours short booking calls. Motics works out at roughly 33p to 42p a minute on monthly list prices, so a three-minute call costs about £1.00 to £1.26.

Do AI receptionist prices include VAT?

Verbalise quotes inc VAT. Motics, Lyngo, BookedSolid and Remi quote ex VAT, as do Pabau's credits. Aeva and ViveoAI don't say. Always ask for a VAT-inclusive total before comparing.

How much does Pabau's AI receptionist cost?

Pabau's AI agents on voice and chat are part of its Engage Plus add-on, shown at £99 per location a month (the page defaults to $159 until you switch to GBP). Calls, texts and AI minutes use Pabau credits, priced from £0.09 down to £0.055 each ex VAT, but Pabau doesn't publish how many credits an AI minute uses, and its core plan prices aren't published either.

Does Motics charge extra for the Phone Agent?

The Phone Agent is included from the Team plan (from £98 a month ex VAT: 704 shared credits). Calls use 3 credits a minute from the clinic's shared pool, and extra usage is billed at the plan's credit rate (£0.14 on Team, £0.13 on Scale). There are no per-seat or per-location fees, and the same credits also pay for notes, email and billing. The calculator on the pricing page shows the cost for your call volume.

Is an AI receptionist cheaper than hiring a receptionist?

It isn't a like-for-like choice. Most clinics keep their reception team and use an AI receptionist for the calls the team can't take: overflow when every line is busy, evenings, weekends and simultaneous calls. Price the AI against the bookings you lose to missed calls and the overtime spent returning them. On Motics, the Phone Agent starts on the Team plan from £98 a month, and the same credits also cover notes, email and billing.

What do NHS GP surgery AI receptionists cost?

InTouchNow, built for NHS GP practices, publishes a price per completed AI call: £1.00 on Starter or £0.90 on All Calls, falling to £0.70 above 10,000 calls, with calls passed back to reception not charged. QuantumLoopAI EMMA and X-on Surgery Assist don't publish prices. Ask each vendor for the pricing basis, onboarding and contract term, and get DTAC and DPIA documentation with the quote.

Sources

  1. Verbalise — home page pricing (£147/month + 55p/min inc VAT) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  2. Lyngo — pricing (GBP ex VAT via currency toggle) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  3. Aeva — pricing (GBP selected) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  4. BookedSolid — pricing (practitioner slider, GBP ex VAT) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  5. ViveoAI — pricing (per location, GBP) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  6. Remi — UK pricing (ex VAT) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  7. Remi — UK privacy policy (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  8. Pabau — pricing (Engage Plus add-on) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  9. Pabau — omnichannel patient engagement (AI agents on voice and chat) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  10. Pabau support — call and messaging pricing (credits) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  11. Motics — pricing (plans ex VAT) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  12. Motics — Phone Agent (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  13. InTouchNow — pricing (per completed AI call) (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  14. QuantumLoopAI — EMMA (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  15. X-on Health — Surgery Assist (fetched 10 Oct 2026)
  16. PrivateHealth.co.uk — private hip replacement costs (fetched 10 Oct 2026)

See Motics in action

Try Motics free, or book a 20-minute walkthrough to see how UK clinics use Motics' AI agents for reception, notes, and admin.